13 February 2018


 
  Waikato University Marine Research & Educational Facility Proposal


Waikato University Marine Research & Educational Facility on Sulphur Point.
The time has arrived where we will have the opportunity to have our input regarding the proposed location of the Waikato University campus on the southern grass area at the northern end of Sulphur Point.
Please appreciate that the TYPBC is not against the development of a Marine University Campus, but we do believe this is not the correct location for it.
Council staff have advised us that the consultation period will run from Monday 12 February to Friday 9 March (inclusive). A number of drop-in sessions will be held whereby Council staff, Elected Members and University staff will be available to discuss the potential development and will be encouraging the public to have their say and submit their feedback. Council’s communications team will be releasing the information shortly.
The drop-in sessions will be carried out on the following dates and at the following locations:-        
•    Sat 17 February – on the southern-grassed area at northern Sulphur Point from 9am-12noon
The Marina Society and the Fish & Game Club are asking their members to come down to this session so that we show how much this matters to us all. Please come down at 9am and show your support for the retention of this piece of land for recreational use – once its gone, its gone!
and
•    Tuesday 20 February – Red Square in the city centre from 10am-1pm, and at the Edgewater Fan on the Tauranga waterfront from 3pm-5pm

Council have also advised that there will be an online form that can be completed to enable anyone to provide their feedback and have their say 

( http://www.tauranga.govt.nz/our-future/projects/university-of-waikato-marine-facility ).

Council will also hold hard copies at the drop-in sessions, at Council libraries and the Council Customer Service Centre should anyone wish to provide feedback via a hard copy.
However the most effective way for us to raise objections is to email our objections to Councillors directly and I urge members to do this.
The Club along with the Marina Society, and the Fish & Game Club have some serious concerns regarding the visual impact of the building, problems regarding parking at the campus, whether this is the correct use of this space, and anyone who has tried to drive away from Sulphur Point at 5pm on a weekday will appreciate what a problem already exists with regards to traffic Management – let alone with the addition of University staff and students. There is a strong feeling that more consideration should be given to the redevelopment of their existing site or another location at the southern end of Sulphur Point.
PLEASE take this opportunity to make your feelings known. You, our members, and the general public are our most powerful tool in preventing this happening at our marine centre.


Please see the email addresses of your councillors listed below:
Mayor Greg Brownless     greg.brownless@tauranga.govt.nz   
Cr. Kelvin Clout (Dep Mayor) kelvin.clout@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Max Mason max.mason@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Rick Curach rick.curach@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr Steve Morris steve.morris@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Leanne Brown leanne.brown@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Larry Baldock larry.baldock@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Catherine Stewart catherine.stewart@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Bill Grainger bill.grainger@tauranga.govt.nz
Cr. Terry Molloy terry.molloy@tauranga.govt.nz

Please support us in this action against the University Campus being located at the Marina – try imagining what it will look like with 3 or 4 storey building in front of you as you drive into the Marina car park. 

Look forward to seeing a good turnout at 9am on Saturday morning

Regards

Nick Wrinch
Commodore
Tauranga Yacht and Power Boat Club